NMD in short:

Category 1, 2 and 3 data. What are the differences?



Friday 17 November 2023

In the National Environmental Database, we distinguish three categories of environmental declarations with environmental data: category 1, 2 and 3. 

Categorie 1

These are verified, proprietary data. They are owned by the manufacturer.

If a supplier or manufacturer wants its building product to be included in the NMD, it engages an LCA consultant to collect and describe the product's environmental data. The outcome of the LCA study is a score list of environmental effects. An expert recognised by the NMD Foundation tests the data, following the Review Protocol for inclusion in the database. After verification, the environmental data are added to the NMD. 

Categorie 2

These are verified, industry/sector-specific data. They are owned by the industry.

These data are also tested by an independent, qualified third party for inclusion in the Dutch Environmental Database. Indicating representativeness (representative for the Dutch market or a group of producers, for example). 

Categorie 3

These are untested, generic data. These category 3 data are a fallback option for when no environmental declarations for this product exist already. These data have not been tested according to the Assessment Protocol and are therefore less sharp, which is why they have a markup factor of 30%.

To fill the National Environmental Database with as much category 1 and 2 data as possible, we encourage producers and manufacturers of building materials in supplying this data. We do this with a scheme under which you can be reimbursed €2,500 for having an LCA made. Click on the button below to read more about this ‘Filling the Gpas’ compensation scheme

Read more about the Filling the Gaps reimbursement scheme